1.       Each constituent nation of the United Kingdom – currently Northern Ireland, Wales, Scotland, and England – should have, and always retain, the right to leave the UK whenever they want. 

2.       The procedures for a nation to join or leave the UK must conform to international democratic norms but otherwise are purely internal matters for each nation.

3.       There should be a written federal constitution.

4.       The highest body of the federal executive shall be a federal council of leaders elected by each nation according to each nation’s internal procedures. 

5.       Every decision within the competence of the federal executive must be made on a unanimous basis or with a majority of 3 nations.  Exception to this rule are that:

a. England retains a veto over proposals agreed by the other 3 nations.  In other words, any three-nation majority must include England;
b. all four nations can agree that certain decisions are to be made unanimously; examples are 9. and 10. below.

6.       There shall be a federal parliament and federal Supreme Court. The precise rules relating to membership and procedures of the federal parliament and supreme court shall ensure that the decisions of English members alone cannot prevail.

7.       All three branches of government shall be subject to checks and balances by the others in order:

a.       to prevent abuses of power by one branch ;and
b.      to prevent domination by England in any area.

8.       The rights and duties of the branches of the federal government shall only be those which are explicitly identified in the constitution.  In the absence of any clear provisions on a given subject, each constituent nation retains the right to legislate.

9.       The current status of the UK’s membership of the EU, UN, and Council of Europe should be retained unless all constituent nations agree otherwise.

10.   No constituent nation shall or can be required by the others to host nuclear weapons or associated installations and equipment.